A great day from the Great I Am

O Lord, open my lips,
That my mouth may declare Your praise.

Psalm 51:15

I wanted to just share my day because I’m in awe of THE God we serve.

Many know I’m a preschool teacher, live in heavily populated Mormon Idaho , and all my coworkers are Mormon.

A couple parts of my day to share…

1. Because this week is spring break, I didn’t have any preschool classes. I did parent teacher conferences.

My last parents were a couple where the father, 34 was a retired army veteran completing 2 tours in Afghanistan. His first deployment he said he saw so much trauma, returned to the states and dealt as best as possible with the aftermath of the psychological affects.
His 2 cd tour ended with his vehicle getting blown up when an IED was purposefully detonated. He lost his lower left arm and has a cool custom made black mechanical prosthetic. 2 in his unit were killed.
As I’m a talker :relaxed:, it was because as a joke he unscrewed the hand attachment while going over his preschool daughter’s progress that I cautiously inquired if he didn’t mind had happened. We got to discussing his story followed by the Afghanistan fiasco, the continued lacking respect for our veterans, military, US flag and law enforcement. ( found out he was a police officer before deploying)

I expressed to him and his wife how thankful I was to him for his service/ sacrifice and her sacrifice as well. I also told him there are people who support them and that a few times I’ve discussed with my preschool class the topic of war, veterans,service members and the US flag and honoring and respecting such things. ( he needed to know that some kids are going to be taught these things despite the school system failing in this area)

I am mentioning this because I was truly humbled and honored to meet him( I only had met his wife ) and hear their story.